Italian Farro Bake

I’m one of those people who is selectively interested in beauty regimens. Is that a thing? Are there other people like this? What I mean is that I spend wayyyyy too much money on skin care products and yet haven’t gotten a haircut in over a year.

Because I am always on the lookout for new ways to waste money on products that probably have zero effect on my skin, you can imagine my excitement when I heard about “the machine that gives you rich-girl skin.” Apparently it costs $295 for a one-hour session, it uses pig placenta and electrical shocks, and it’s basically amazing. You know, I can roll my eyes at get-rich-quick schemes or lose-40-pounds-in-a-weekend diets, but if you tell me pig placenta is going to make my skin glow, you can bet I’ll want some. I guess we all have our weaknesses.

Anyway, now that I’ve said “placenta” a few too many times, how about a recipe? This is a great, filling side dish for an Italian meal, or you could have it by itself for a meat-free entree (like I did). It has a traditional tomato-basil-parmesan flavor base, but the addition of some lemon zest gives it a slightly different twist.

ITALIAN FARRO BAKE (recipe from Emily Bites)

Olive oil cooking spray
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 an onion, chopped
1 tsp minced garlic
Salt to taste
1 1/2 cup pearled farro (found in the rice aisle)
1 cup tomato sauce
2 1/2 cups vegetable broth
1 tsp dried basil
Zest from 1 lemon
1 1/2 cups freshly grated Parmesan cheese, divided
2 tsp dried oregano

1. Pre-heat the oven to 400. Lightly coat 8×8 baking dish with olive oil cooking spray and set aside.
2. Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion, salt, and garlic and cook, stirring occasionally, until onions start to turn translucent. Add farro and stir until onions and farro are mixed thoroughly. Cook for 1 minute. Add tomato sauce, broth, and basil; stir. Bring to a simmer and remove from heat. Stir in lemon zest and 1 cup of the Parmesan cheese.
3. Transfer mixture to prepared baking dish and cover with aluminum foil. Cut a few slits in the foil. Bake for 45 minutes, removing foil for the last five minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle with remaining cheese and oregano. Serve warm.

Farro has a really nice, chewy texture, and I think it’s a lot more filling than either white or brown rice. The lemon zest was a really nice touch.

3 thoughts on “Italian Farro Bake

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato and Black Bean Quinoa Bake | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

