Baked Reuben Sandwich

I’ve talked before about how much I love the grocery store by my house, but I came very close to finding a chink in its armor last week — no corned beef. No corned beef! My mom loves reubens and reuben dip, and she always bought those little packages of Buddig corned beef to make them. I found other Buddig cuts of meat, but there was no corned beef. Tragedy!

Luckily I remembered that, duh, there’s a deli counter for a reason. I went up and asked them to slice me up some corned beef real nice, and they even gave me a sample to snack on while I waited. Combine that with all the pound cake, Swiss cheese, and fresh fruit samples this place has got going on, and I basically didn’t even need to make my reuben. BEST GROCERY STORE EVER.

BAKED REUBEN SANDWICH (adapted from Betty Crocker)

2 cups Bisquick
1 cup milk
1 egg
1 tbsp caraway seeds, plus more for topping
1/2 lb sliced deli corned beef
1/4 cup Thousand Island dressing
3/4 cup shredded Swiss cheese
1 14-oz can sauerkraut, well drained

  1. Heat oven to 400. Spray 8×8 square glass baking dish with cooking spray.
  2. In medium bowl, stir Bisquick, milk, egg and caraway seeds with fork until blended. Spread 1 cup batter in baking dish.
  3. Brush corned beef slices with Thousand Island dressing; layer on top of batter in baking dish. Top evenly with cheese and sauerkraut. Carefully spread remaining batter over sauerkraut, and sprinkle on additional caraway seeds.
  4. Bake uncovered 28-30 minutes or until light golden brown and center is set. Let stand 5 minutes before cutting. Serve with additional Thousand Island dressing, if desired.

Loooooove me a good reuben. This does not taste perfectly authentic, since it’s made with Bisquick and not with toasted rye bread drenched in butter, but the filling is perfectly reuben-y, and the caraway seeds are a nice touch. Also, Betty Crocker thinks this feeds six people, but I think Betty Crocker is smoking something, because my husband and I managed to get through almost the whole pan in one sitting (but maybe that is because we are disgusting). O WELL, YOLO!

(Did I use that right?)

One thought on “Baked Reuben Sandwich

Leave a Reply

