Breaking News: Dessert is Delicious (Peanut Butter Cup Blondies)

Sometimes I feel a little silly with my little food blog. Snapping pictures of my dinner and writing “OMG YOU GUYS THIS IS SO DELICIOUS” to…whoever is out there in the internet ether. The thing is, I really do think the meals I post are delicious! When I make something that turns out to be a stinker, I don’t post it. But still…sometimes I feel a little silly.

This feeling of silliness is one of the main reasons I don’t post a lot of dessert recipes. Granted, I don’t make a lot of dessert recipes (since a bunch of dessert sitting around my house is a recipe for obesity), but a big part of why desserts don’t pop up on my blog very often is because of the duh factor. I mean, what is there to say about dessert? “Hey guys, if you combine a bunch of sugar and butter and chocolate and cream…it tastes delicious!” This not helpful information. You know dessert is delicious. You are not reading this blog because you’re confused about this fact.

With that caveat in mind, I figured that with Thanksgiving and all, it was about time to share another dessert recipe. You won’t believe it, guys…but I mixed some sugar and some peanut butter and some chocolate chips and some candy…and it tasted delicious. Shocking, I know. Even so, in case you’re looking for something new and delicious to bring to Thanksgiving dinner or to serve to a peanut butter-lover in your life, I offer the following:

PEANUT BUTTER CUP BLONDIES (recipe from Stephanie Cooks)

1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 cup peanut butter, crunchy or smooth
1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled
2 tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1/4 cup chocolate chips
4 peanut butter cups, chopped (or 3/4 cup mini peanut butter cups)

1. Preheat over to 375. Spray a 9×9 square baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.
2. In large bowl, combine flour, sugars, baking powder, and salt. Stir and set aside. In separate bowl, combine peanut butter, butter, milk, vanilla, and eggs. Stir well to combine.
3. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients, mixing well until evenly incorporated. Don’t over stir. Add chocolate chips, stir, and pour batter into baking dish. Top with chopped peanut butter cups. Bake 19-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out with slightly moist crumbs.
4. Cool in pan on wire rack, then cut and serve.

In case you hadn’t guessed, duh, these were delicious. You can bet that if I’m making a peanut butter-based dessert, I’m doing something nice for my husband (in this case, bringing treats to his office one night when he had to work past midnight to prepare for a deposition). They were definitely a hit.

Leave a Reply

