Pumpkin Ginger Waffles

My husband and I have fairly different vacationing styles. He likes to kick back and relax, and while I can do that on longer trips, when we’ve only got a day or two for vacation, my attitude tends to be HURRY UP WAKE UP SO WE CAN START HAVING FUN IMMEDIATELY! I’m a real treat to be married to.

When I discovered I had a three-day weekend off work for Columbus Day, we decided to take a little trip — nothing big, just renting a car and driving a few hours away to visit some wineries and see some fall leaves. Since we were leaving on Saturday and only staying one night, I of course woke up at 6 on Saturday morning ready to shake him and say HURRY UP WAKE UP SO WE CAN START HAVING FUN IMMEDIATELY. But just this once I managed to hold off, and decided to make a nice fall breakfast while he slept in a little.

PUMPKIN GINGER WAFFLES (recipe from Country Living)

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup finely chopped crystallized ginger
2 large eggs
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 tsp vanilla extract
3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled

  1. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, ground ginger, and cinnamon together in large bowl. Remove 2 tablespoons of flour mixture and toss with crystallized ginger in small bowl, setting aside.
  2. Whisk eggs, buttermilk, pumpkin, sugar, and vanilla in medium bowl. Combine with flour mixture. Stir in butter and fold in reserved crystallized-ginger mixture. Do not overmix.
  3. Heat waffle iron and make waffles, using about 1/2 cup batter for each one.

I got three extra-large Belgian waffles out of this recipe, and since pumpkin and ginger are two of my favorite things, I obviously loved them. I put the extra waffles in the freezer, thinking we’d have them the next weekend, but I underestimated how good these would be straight out of the freezer and found myself snacking on them throughout the week. Oh well!

And just for fun, here’s the best fall foliage picture we got from our little vacation:

Leave a Reply

