Pesto Chicken Stuffed Shells

I’ve been hitting the gym a lot more since we moved to a building that has its own gym, but I am – and have always been – a pretty strictly cardio girl. I know strength training is good for you and increases you metabolism and helps you get toned and blah blah blah, but it just feels like such a waste of time to me. My main reason for going to the gym is so that I can eat more cake and drink more beer (it’s pumpkin flavored beer season yet again!), and weights just don’t seem to fit into my plans too well.

However, after making these stuffed shells, I might have to change my ways. I had to grate over a cup of parmesan cheese by hand and my…arm…hurt. Like, I had to stop and rest. TWICE. That’s…not great. Maybe I’ll tag along the next time my husband goes down for an arms workout…

PESTO CHICKEN STUFFED SHELLS (adapted from Stick a Fork in It)

12-16 jumbo pasta shells
2 tbsp cream cheese, softened
1 cup grated Parmesan cheese, plus 1/4 cup for topping
1/2 cup prepared pesto, divided (homemade or store-bought)
2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, or more to taste

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Bring large pot of salted water to a boil, and cook pasta shells until al dente according to package directions. Drain shells and set aside.
  2. In large bowl, combine cream cheese, 1 cup parmesan cheese, chicken, 1/4 cup pesto, and crushed red pepper, stirring to combine. Fill shells with filling and place in greased baking dish. Top with remaining pesto and parmesan cheese.
  3. Bake shells uncovered for 30 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and melted.

Super tasty. These ended up being sort of hand-held, which made the leftovers very hard for me to avoid whenever I ended up in front of the fridge.

Leave a Reply

