Lemongrass Chicken

Have I mentioned yet how amazing the grocery store is by our new apartment? I mean, I had a pretty sweet set-up in Chicago…a perfectly good grocery store AND a Whole Foods were mere blocks from my apartment. But this new place is insane. It carries types of vinegar I’ve never even heard of before…not to mention every single fresh herb I could possibly think of. Fresh sage? NBD. I’m in love with this place. If only I had a car to drive there and really stock up!

When I saw that they carried fresh lemongrass, I knew I had to take advantage and make something awesome and lemongrassy. I had worked with lemongrass at a Thai cooking class I took with one of my girlfriends a few months ago, but I had never gotten my hands on it in my own personal kitchen. UNTIL NOW!

The only thing that topped my excitement at finding lemongrass was my excitement upon biting into this chicken. My husband got to it first as I was snapping a few pictures, and he literally exclaimed “Wow!” after his first bite. I totally agreed – this had so much oomph. This was also a very forgiving recipe — I actually made the marinade a week ago before learning that my dinner plans had been preempted by the National Football League, so I just threw it in the freezer for a few days and brought it back out on a football-free night. SO GOOD!

LEMONGRASS CHICKEN (recipe from JBean Cuisine)

2 stalks lemongrass
2-inch piece fresh ginger (about 3 tbsp finely minced)
1 tbsp minced garlic
1 jalapeno or Serrano pepper, finely minced
4 tbsp brown sugar
3 tbsp fish sauce (in Asian aisle)
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp canola oil
2 tbsp rice vinegar
Salt and pepper to taste
6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs

  1. Peel outer layer of lemongrass and cut off top third of stalk and root end; discard. Thinly slice remaining lemongrass and mince it finely. Peel and finely mince ginger, and finely mince jalapeno. In small bowl or measuring cup, stir together lemongrass, ginger, garlic, jalapeno/Serrano pepper, sugar, fish sauce, soy sauce, oil and rice vinegar.
  2. Place chicken thighs in large Ziploc bag. Pour marinade in bag and massage chicken and marinade together with your fingers. Zip bag, squeezing air out, and marinate in refrigerator for 1-2 hours or up to 2 days (you can also freeze at this point and thaw overnight before baking).
  3. Preheat oven to 400. Pour chicken and marinade into baking dish and bake 30-35 minutes, or until chicken reaches internal temperature of 165 degrees.
  4. Remove chicken from oven and turn broiler to high. Broil chicken 2-3 minutes, or until slightly crisp and nicely brown. Using tongs or fork, remove chicken and place on plate, setting aside.
  5. Place all leftover marinade in small saucepan over medium-high heat. Allow mixture to boil 2-3 minutes so it reduces slightly, then remove from heat and salt and pepper to taste. Serve chicken with sauce.

SERIOUSLY delicious. I don’t say this about many recipes, but I wish I were eating it right now.

2 thoughts on “Lemongrass Chicken

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year: The 12 Best Dishes of 2012! | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

