Honey Ginger Pork Tenderloin

Does everyone out there have a Kindle or Nook or e-reader of some kind by now? For a variety of reasons, I’ve resisted for awhile now, but I’m starting to think it might be time to take the plunge. In Chicago, I worked fairly close to the massive flagship public library, and it was always easy to get books when I went out to grab lunch. Since we’ve moved to DC, the library is much more out of my way and much…less welcoming. Actually, strike that – it’s way, way too welcoming. In one brief trip there last weekend, I witnessed a man watching internet videos of full-figured women vigorously shaking their huge butts, and he was so enthused by this video that he began dancing along and even started removing his clothes. No one even batted an eye. A few minutes later, I was hit on by someone I have to imagine wasn’t old enough to vote. It’s really quite the library.

So like I said, it looks like I might have to finally cave on that whole e-reader issue…

HONEY GINGER PORK TENDERLOIN (recipe from The Way the Cookie Crumbles)

1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup oyster sauce (found in Asian section of supermarket)
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 1/2 tbsp grated ginger
1 tbsp minced garlic
1 tbsp ketchup
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp cinnamon

1. Whisk together all ingredients except pork in small bowl. Add pork and marinade to large Ziploc bag and refrigerate at least 8 hours or up to 1 day.
2. Prepare medium-hot grill. Remove the pork from the marinade, reserving the marinade.
3. Grill pork, basting with reserved marinade, for 12 minutes, turning a quarter turn every 3 minutes. Discard marinade. Continue grilling, turning every minute or so, until pork reaches 145 degrees or until meat is slightly pink at center. Let rest 5 minutes before slicing.

This pork was the exact opposite of my trip to the library. I love marinades with ginger, and the honey and brown sugar made this a little sweeter. Since we can’t have a grill at our new place, I seared the pork on the stove top for about 1-2 minutes per side, then baked it at 400 for about 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

