English Muffin Tuna Melts

You guys. You guys. These are so good. I don’t even understand why. I mean, I like Swiss cheese. And I like tuna salad. And I like English muffins. But all these things together? What was once merely like is elevated to looooooove. Mutliple-voweled love, in fact.

Yikes. OK, let me dial it down a bit.

I found this recipe on The Pioneer Woman’s blog and I tried them that very week. I’ve made these a couple of times now, usually as a lazy weekend brunch/lunch/dinner/whatever. I’ve even healthified these using lower-calorie multigrain English muffins, part-skim Swiss cheese, and Greek yogurt instead of mayonnaise, and they’re still delicious. Enjoy!

ENGLISH MUFFIN TUNA MELTS (adapted from The Pioneer Woman)

6.4 package albacore tuna
1/4 cup chopped red onion
1 red pepper, chopped
1/3 cup chopped jalapenos
3 hard boiled eggs, chopped (yolks included)
4 mini gherkin sweet pickles, chopped
1/4 cup Miracle Whip or Greek yogurt
2 tbsp Dijon mustard
small splash pickle juice
1 tsp red pepper flakes
Salt and Pepper to taste
4 whole English muffins, split
8 slices Swiss cheese

1. Preheat oven to 375. Combine tuna, onion, red pepper, jalapenos, eggs and gherkins. Stir in Miracle Whip/yogurt, mustard, and pickle juice. Add salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes. Taste and adjust seasonings as needed.

2. If you like, toast English muffin halves before assembling. Place English muffin halves on cookie sheet. Put a large spoonful of tuna mixture on each muffin half, using a spoon to spread and flatten. Bake 5-6 minutes, then remove and lay a cheese slice on each muffin half. Return to the oven and turn on the broiler, broiling until the cheese is melted and bubbly (2-3 minutes). Serve immediately.

Love these! I’m extra-excited that these worked well with Greek yogurt, because I’m one of those weird people who is slightly grossed out by mayonnaise. I haven’t always been successful trying to sub Greek yogurt for mayo or sour cream, but these worked beautifully.

3 thoughts on “English Muffin Tuna Melts

  1. This is a fancier version of something I make when I’m too lazy to actual ‘cook.’ I love tuna melts and I always get caught in this mental tick of singing ‘tooter melt’ in my head while making them,

    • Ha! Yeah the English muffin really makes these good – I think the tuna salad and the melty cheese need a sturdy base. I used to think that I didn’t like tuna melts because I wasn’t crazy about these “tuna frenchies” my mom used to make (tuna salad and two pieces of American cheese on bread dipped in egg wash and coated in potato chips, then baked), but I think it was just that I needed a more solid base (and a more delicious cheese),

      • I often use whatever toasted english muffins I have around, and a medium wisconson cheddar. The tuna mix rarely gets more complex than ‘tuna n mayo’ tho, so you’ve inspired me to put more crap in them.

Leave a Reply

