Chipotle Honey Chicken with Sweet Potatoes

As you probably realize, food blogging involves three main components – finding and cooking different recipes, writing blog posts about those recipes, and photographing the food you cook. Step one is NBD for me – I love looking through cooking blogs and cookbooks to find yummy new things to make. I also like to write (especially fun things about food and not long boring legal things for work), so the second part is easy, too. That third step, though, where I have to photograph my dinner before scarfing it down…that’s the part that trips me up.

Anyone who has tried to photograph their food more than a handful of times knows that the very best way to do it is using natural light. Unfortunately, I didn’t get this super easy (and delicious!) chicken made in time to take advantage of natural light, and the reason for that is that I locked myself on the balcony of my apartment while photographing the ribs we ate the night before. Not kidding. We have a very small (9×5) balcony jutting out from our eighth floor apartment. And because my husband doesn’t get home from work until after 8, I was stuck out there with nothing but a camera and a plate of ribs until I could scream loudly enough to get the attention of a passer-by who was kind enough to alert the security guard in my building. If you recently had an experience more embarrassing than being discovered on the balcony of your apartment with a camera and a plate of ribs, I encourage you to share it in the comments.

Anyway. After my embarrassing 45-minute lockout, I got busy on this chicken, which really was delicious – and super easy, thank G. I’ve mentioned many times my love for sweet potatoes and chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, but this time I made my meat-eating husband happy by pairing it with chicken rather than black beans. We both really liked these flavors – the one change I would make would be making some extra chipotle paste to coat the sweet potatoes even more. MOAAAAR SPICE!

CHIPOTLE-HONEY CHICKEN WITH SWEET POTATOES (recipe from Pink Parsley)

4 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
3 tbsp olive oil
4 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, minced
1 1/2 tsp minced garlic
2 tbsp honey, plus more for drizzling
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 1/4 tsp kosher salt, plus more to taste
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
chopped cilantro, for garnish

  1. Preheat oven to 400. In small bowl, mix together 1 tablespoon olive oil along with the chipotles, garlic, honey, vinegar, salt, cumin, and cinnamon to form a paste. In another bowl, mix remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil with 2 teaspoons of the paste, and toss with the sweet potatoes.
  2. Scatter potatoes on roasting pan covered in aluminum foil and coated with olive oil. Bake 15 minutes. Meanwhile, rub chicken breasts with the remaining paste.
  3. Stir potatoes and place chicken on top of potatoes. Continue to roast until chicken is just cooked through (165 degrees), about 15-20 minutes longer
  4. Divide potatoes and chicken evenly among serving plates and drizzle with honey, garnishing with cilantro.

Very, very good. I think if I had had more time (i.e., if I hadn’t gotten locked on my balcony like an IDIOT), I would have let the chicken marinate in the paste a little to give it more time to soak up the flavors. Delish!

2 thoughts on “Chipotle Honey Chicken with Sweet Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Chipotle Pork Tostadas with Pine-Apple Salsa | windykitchen

  2. Pingback: Chubby Hubby Bars (and windykitchen turns two!) | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

