Ghost Removal 101: Sage and Prosciutto Risotto

When I was 14, I flew to Denver all by myself to spend spring break with my cool, single aunt. We did all kinds of fun stuff – snowboarding, art museums, shopping – but the one thing I’ll never forget is finding a big Ziploc baggie full of some kind of leaves in her bedroom. At 14 I hadn’t ever seen marijuana, but I had seen Just Say No afterschool specials, and I was super uncomfortable.

I didn’t say anything to my aunt until the next night, when she said she had “something to show me” and brought that baggie out of her room. I flipped out and went to go call my parents, at which point she started laughing hysterically – apparently that baggie was full of sage, which some people (hippies mainly, let’s be real) burn to remove the negative energy from their house. Apparently it’s legit – google “how to get rid of ghosts.”

Anyway, that bizarre adolescent experience was basically my only direct exposure with sage…until this delicious risotto. To be honest, if it’s risotto I’m probably going to love it, but something about this was just especially good. Maybe it was all the ghosts leaving my apartment!

SAGE AND PROSCIUTTO RISOTTO (recipe from Prevention RD)

2 14-ounce cans reduced sodium chicken broth
1 tbsp butter
1 cup finely chopped leek
2 tsp minced garlic
1 1/4 cups Arborio rice
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 cup dry white wine
2 tbsp finely chopped fresh sage
1 cup (4 ounces) finely chopped fresh mozzarella cheese
2 ounces prosciutto, chopped (about 1/3 cup)

  1. Bring broth to a simmer in medium saucepan. Keep warm over low heat.
  2. Melt butter in large skillet over medium heat. Add leek and garlic and cook for 3 minutes, stirring frequently. Add rice and salt; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Stir in wine; cook 2 minutes, stirring constantly.
  3. Add broth, half a cup at a time, stirring frequently until each portion of broth is absorbed before adding the next (about 20 minutes total). Stir in chopped sage, and cook for 2 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in mozzarella and prosciutto. Salt and pepper to taste; serve immediately.

Just…just so, so good. I used regular mozzarella instead of fresh and it was still delicious. Definitely make this if you’re hoping to drive some ghosts out of your house!

3 thoughts on “Ghost Removal 101: Sage and Prosciutto Risotto

  1. OH!!! I am dying laughing.. TOTALLY forgot about that and just now realizing how life scarring that little baggie must have been.. must share with my friend Jules who at the time had me SAGING everything!!

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year: The 12 Best Dishes of 2012! | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

