Seafood Paella with Edamame

I’m one of those people who eats leftovers cold. I’m not sure I would argue that cold leftover pizza is better than fresh-out-of-the-oven pizza, but it’s wayyyyy better than reheated leftover pizza. There are only a couple of leftovers that I ever bother to reheat – French fries are all that come to mind. Honestly, there are some foods I prefer as cold leftovers. Have you ever had cold spaghetti with meat sauce? It’s pretty legit.

I think part of the reason I like cold leftovers is that it feels like you’re not really eating. It’s not like I got out a plate and heated food up, no way! I just had a few bites out of the fridge. No calories in those bites. Definitely not.

Anyway, even though I love cold leftovers as a rule, I certainly never expected that I would like this paella cold. This is a really nice, risotto-like dish that has lots of different flavors and yummy seafood in it, and my husband and I enjoyed it a lot. But then later, I had a couple of bites of the leftovers, and…yup. Pretty good cold.

SEAFOOD PAELLA WITH EDAMAME (adapted from Epicurious)

2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1/2 tsp saffron threads
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 red pepper, diced
1/2 tomato, seeded and diced
1 tbsp minced garlic
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 cup short-grain rice (such as arborio)
1 cup frozen shelled edamame, thawed
1/2 pound large shrimp, shelled and deveined
1/2 pound sea scallops, halved if large
Chopped cilantro, for garnish

  1. Heat broth in small pan; add saffron and let sit.
  2. In large skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Cook onion and red peppers, covered, stirring occasionally, for about 5 minutes. Add tomatoes, garlic, thyme, salt, and pepper; cook, stirring, about 3 minutes.
  3. Stir in rice; cook, stirring, for about a minute. Add broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, for 15 minutes. Add edamame, shrimp, and scallops; simmer, covered, until seafood is fully cooked, about 10 minutes. Let rest 5 minutes. Garnish with cilantro.

Two tips: (1) definitely thaw out your edamame; I was in a rush and didn’t bother, and it didn’t cook all the way. (2) make sure to let it sit for a few minutes once it finishes cooking, as it really does let the flavors meld together. And apparently, so does several hours in the fridge. Yum!

One thought on “Seafood Paella with Edamame

Leave a Reply

