Crockpot Peanut Butter Pork

One thing that I learned a long time ago is that men need a little spot in their house where they can empty out the contents of their pockets after a day out in the world. Keys, wallet, spare change, pocket knife, random receipts, all those things that a woman would smartly keep in a purse – men need a little spot for that. For as long as I can remember, my dad has used the lefthand corner of our fireplace as his “pocket spot,” immediately emptying the contents of his pockets in that same spot as soon as he walked in the door. When I started dating my now-husband, I discovered that even though the contents of his pocket were different, he had the same little ritual and the same need for a pocket spot.

One thing that I learned pretty recently is that men will choose their “pocket spot” all on their own, regardless of any suggestions or manipulations or interference on the part of other people living in their house. When we first got married, I got my husband a nice little tray thingie that had a place to charge his cell phone and blackberry, a little spot for change, even a place to put that watch he doesn’t wear. I put it on his nightstand, proud of myself for getting him such a thoughtful gift…and then promptly watch him empty out his pockets on the desk by the front door. No amount of reminders or requests could get him to use the spot I had picked out. Apparently the pocket spot is impervious to outside influence.

Food, however…on that subject, he is much more adaptable. Not that I was worried about him liking this pork, though – it’s delicious!

CROCKPOT PEANUT BUTTER PORK (recipe from Cassie Craves)

1 pork tenderloin, 1.5-2 lbs
1/2 an onion, sliced in rings
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup brown sugar
3 tbsp white wine vinegar
3 tbsp water
1 tsp minced garlic
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup chopped peanuts
Cooked rice, for serving

  1. Add onion slices to bottom of crockpot and top with pork. Add brown sugar, soy sauce, vinegar, water, garlic, and peanut butter (no need to mix them together first).
  2. Cover and cook on low 7 hours, or on high 4-5 hours. One hour before serving, flip pork over so other side can soak up sauce. When pork is done, remove from crockpot and shred pork with two forks. Garnish with chopped peanuts and serve over rice.

Yep this was pretty good. One thing this wasn’t, though, was spicy – and I like things spicy! I made a little spicy peanut sauce to pour over the pork, mixing up some peanut butter with a little soy sauce, water, sriracha and garlic.

4 thoughts on “Crockpot Peanut Butter Pork

  1. Speaking for men everywhere: the pocket dump spot has to be in close proximity to the front door. Jess got me a little dish thing to put my crap in and I adapted from the table to it as the location was similar enough next to the front door. Guys ain’t gonna carry that stuff all the way into the office!

    • I think you’re right — proximity to the front door is key. Follow up question: why do men always have so much spare change in their pockets? I have change like once a month.

      • Not sure if that is an all male common thing – I only use cash maybe once a month…

        We do keep our change instead of ‘find places to spend it.’ Change isn’t kept in our wallets cuz it’s comfortable so we don’t spend it – that might be the case. I have noticed that we often have 100$ worth of change in a jug that’s been hanging around since the Clinton administration.

  2. Pingback: Crockpot Cream Cheese Chicken Chili | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

