Spicy Sweet Potato Tots

I gotta admit – since I’m usually just cooking for two people, I don’t often fuss around with side dishes. I’ll try to find main dishes that include veggies, and sometimes I’ll throw together a quick side salad, but full-on side dishes don’t usually happen in my kitchen.

Which is why it’s kind of funny that the one time I got really excited about making a side dish, my husband had to work late, and I ended up just having these for my whole dinner. And – no regrets. These are awesome and even pretty healthy, since they’re baked and don’t have much more in them than sweet potatoes. The biggest drawback of these yummy little tots is that I scraped my thumb on the box grater and chipped my no-chip manicure. So. You know. Watch out.

SPICY SWEET POTATO TOTS (recipe from Sarcastic Cooking)

2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cut in half
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 tsp honey
1 tbsp adobo sauce from can of chipotle chiles in adobo sauce
Dash of cinnamon

  1. Bring large pot of water to boil. Drop halved sweet potatoes into water and boil for 7 minutes (they won’t be cooked all the way through, just enough to be formed into tots). Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Drain potatoes and let them cool until they are able to be handled, then coarsely grate them using a box grater. Add potatoes to large mixing bowl along with salt, pepper, honey, adobo sauce, and cinnamon. Mix well.
  3. Line large baking sheet with foil coated with cooking spray. Work potato mixture into small balls about the size of ping-pong balls. Continue until all tots are formed. You should have around 20 tots.
  4. Bake the tots for 30 minutes, then remove them from oven, flip them over, and bake another 30 minutes. Let tots cool a few minutes before eating.

These were super tasty. I dipped them in ranch (obvi), and I think next time I might add even more adobo sauce. They just had a hint of spice, but you could really crank it up if you like. Yum!

3 thoughts on “Spicy Sweet Potato Tots

Leave a Reply

