House Fried Rice

I haven’t mentioned this yet, but we’re moving! Across the country in fact. There have been some job changes in the past month or so but the bottom line is that we’ll be headed to DC in the next few weeks. Even though I’m excited, it’s a little daunting. I’ve moved many, many, many times in my adult life, but this is the first time my husband and I have moved together – and the first time I’ve moved such a long distance with so much furniture. Wish me luck…

In preparation for the move, I’ve been slowly trying to take stock of my pantry and refrigerator to figure out what needs to get used up before the move. Enter this faux fried rice. I’ve always got a chicken breast and some shrimp in the freezer, and I happened to have a ham steak as well. Plus plenty of rice and frozen peas and soy sauce…and this meal basically made itself.

HOUSE FRIED RICE (adapted from All Recipes)

1 1/2 cups uncooked white rice
1 1/2 tbsp sesame or vegetable oil
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1 small onion, chopped
1 tsp minced garlic
10-12 medium shrimp, peeled, deveined, and chopped in thirds
1 ham steak, diced
1 chicken breast, poached, and cut in bite-sized pieces
4 celery sticks, chopped
4 carrot sticks, chopped
1/2 green pepper, chopped
1/2 cup green peas
1 egg, beaten
1/4 cup soy sauce

  1. Cook rice according to package directions. While rice cooks, heat wok or large skillet over medium-high heat. Add sesame oil and stir in onion and red pepper. Fry until golden, then add garlic. When garlic is lightly browned, mix in shrimp, ham, and chicken. Fry until shrimp is pink.
  2. Lower heat to medium and stir in vegetables; fry until crisp-tender. Clear some surface in skillet and stir in beaten egg. Cook just until egg is scrambled and firm.
  3. When rice is done, mix thoroughly with vegetables and stir in soy sauce. Adjust seasoning to your preference and serve immediately.

I call this “faux” fried rice because it uses freshly cooked rice rather than day-old rice…but I personally like it better this way. You can make things even easier on yourself by getting chopped celery, carrots, and green peppers from the salad bar at your grocery store.

One thought on “House Fried Rice

  1. Pingback: Penne with Vodka Sauce « windykitchen

Leave a Reply

