Honey Lime Chicken Enchiladas

It’s no big surprise that I read a lot of food blogs. And sometimes, when you read a lot of food blogs, you’ll see the same recipe (or a variation thereof) popping up all over the place. That was the case with this recipe. First I saw it here. Then here. Then here and here and here. Couple that with the fact that I had recently fallen in love with another enchilada recipe with honey, and I knew I had to try these.

I made these on Cinco de Mayo when we had a couple of friends over, and everyone seemed to like them a lot. I could only fit eight enchiladas in my pan, so I ended up with a bunch of extra honey-lime chicken in my fridge, which I had a hard time avoiding whenever I opened the fridge. Glass of water and a bite of chicken? Apparently that’s how I roll. Classy.

HONEY LIME CHICKEN ENCHILADAS

6 tbsp honey
5 tbsp lime juice (about 2 large limes)
1 tbsp chili powder
1/2 tbsp cumin
1/2 tbsp garlic powder
2 chicken breasts, poached and shredded
8-10 flour tortillas
1 pound Monterey jack cheese, shredded
16 ounces green enchilada sauce
1 cup light sour cream

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Mix first five ingredients and toss with shredded chicken. Let marinate at least 30 minutes.
  2. Pour about 1/2 cup enchilada sauce in bottom of 9×13 pan. Fill flour tortillas with chicken and shredded cheese, roll up, and place in pan seam-side down, saving about 1 cup cheese for later.
  3. Mix remaining enchilada sauce with sour cream and leftover chicken marinade. Pour sauce on top of enchiladas and sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake 30 minutes until brown and crispy on top.

I got nothing but love for these enchiladas. Some people have used rotisserie chicken instead of poaching their own breasts – either would work. Great flavor!

One thought on “Honey Lime Chicken Enchiladas

  1. Hah, we make basically the same thing! I grill the chicken instead of poach and it’s required to sneak some chopped up jalapenos in the marinade and sprinkled on at least half under the cheese.

Leave a Reply

