Oven Baked Sriracha Chicken

You know who’s amazing? Working moms. It seems like all the pundits and politicians have been fighting lately about how much moms work and all that – which is dumb. Of course they work! The day I made this delicious, delicious chicken, I worked all day, got home at 6, went for a long run, and then scrambled to get dinner ready before my husband got home from work at 9. And I was pooped! I honestly can’t imagine how I’d pile all the extra working-mom duties on top of that. Or how I’d cope if my husband got home from work at a reasonable hour. Basically, working moms are amazing.

Since it’s way more fun to talk about food than manufactured political drama*, let’s talk about the food. SO GOOD! The sauce this chicken is cooked in is amazing. I think it’s the Chinese Five Spice seasoning, which I had never cooked with before. It really adds an extra dimension to a sauce that’s already chock full of yummy ingredients. I got the Chinese Five Spice at my regular grocery store – it was one of McCormick’s “gourmet” spices. Fancy fancy.

Another thing I loved about this chicken is that it was easy enough that I had the energy to make it after a long (long for me, anyway) run. Though I was eyeing my comfy couch longingly while making this, it was in the oven in no time. We’ll definitely have this again.

OVEN BAKED SRIRACHA CHICKEN (recipe from Alida’s Kitchen)

1 bunch green onions, greens thinly sliced and whites minced
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger
1 tbsp minced garlic
Pinch salt
Juice from 1 medium lime
2 teaspoons sriracha sauce, or more to taste
1/4 teaspoon Chinese Five Spice seasoning
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Sesame seeds for serving (optional)

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray 9×13 baking dish with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl or pie plate, whisk together the minced whites of the green onions, hoisin sauce, ginger, garlic, salt, lime juice, sriracha sauce, and seasoning. Taste and adjust ingredients as desired.
  3. Coat each chicken breast with sauce. Place chicken breasts in baking dish, and pour any remaining sauce over the chicken.
  4. Cover baking dish with with foil. Bake approximately 35 minutes, or until chicken reaches internal temperature of 165. Serve chicken topped with green onions (green portions) and sesame seeds.

Awesome chicken dinner. I used chicken breast halves, so mine were done after 25 minutes (another great reason to have a meat thermometer handy!). I served these with some peanut noodles, but I think it’d be better with some plain rice, because there’s a lot of extra sauce left in the dish after cooking, and I always like having something to sop up sauce with. This would probably be even better if you let the chicken marinate in the sauce for awhile before cooking. Yum!

*My husband would like me to point out that he thinks it is much more fun to talk about manufactured political drama than food. To each his own.

2 thoughts on “Oven Baked Sriracha Chicken

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year: The 12 Best Dishes of 2012! | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

