TREAT YO SELF! Balsamic Strawberry & Goat Cheese Flatbread

Some days I feel like I don’t get to do anythingI want to do all day long. I work long hours, eat a boring healthy lunch, come home and unload the dishwasher (always, every day, without fail, the dishwasher has to be unloaded)…etc. This isn’t unique to me, of course – adultdom can be très lame – but it seems like I’ve sure had a lot of these days in a row.

Last Saturday I woke up grumpy from a long week full of days like this, and I just decided that I was going to spend all day doing exactly I wanted to do and nothing else. Basically, I decided to TREAT MYSELF! And it was awesome. I got a manicure and an iced tea from Starbucks (two extravagances I usually don’t let myself spend money on), did some window shopping, went on a nice long walk, and when I decided that I wanted to have this flatbread for lunch, well, I just made it. So go ahead – TREAT YO SELF!

BALSAMIC STRAWBERRY AND GOAT CHEESE FLATBREAD (slightly adapted from Pink Parsley)

Pizza dough (I used this recipe)
Zest and juice of one lemon
Olive oil
Kosher salt
1 cup thinly sliced strawberries
1/2 cup crumbled goat cheese
Balsamic vinegar
1/3 cup chopped fresh basil leaves

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Sprinkle about half the lemon zest over pizza dough. Knead it into the dough until well-incorporated, and then press the dough into a rectangle measuring about 12×9 inches Drizzle with olive oil and about 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. Lightly sprinkle kosher salt on top.
  3. Arrange strawberries over dough, followed by goat cheese, and then drizzle lightly with vinegar.
  4. Bake 20-25 minutes, or until the dough is cooked through and just turning golden. Drizzle with more balsamic vinegar and sprinkle with basil.

This made for a lovely little lunch on our balcony. I was shocked by how much my husband liked this – it’s sort of light and girly, but he devoured this. This would be a great appetizer for a party, too.

Leave a Reply

