Stir Fried Shrimp with Spicy Orange Sauce

Guys, I can’t cook rice noodles. I don’t know why! They seem so simple. They’re basically just noodles…only somehow, whenever I try to make them, something goes horribly wrong. I’ve spared you all the pain of seeing my botched attempt at Pad See Ew last week, but trust me when I say that it was a failure. Way more went in the trash than our bellies.

So what do you do when you fall off the horse? Get…back on again…? That’s what I did with this stir fried shrimp. The shrimp itself was awesome (and would be just as good with rice or quinoa or another noodle), and my rice noodles almost worked…still a little too tough. I think the trick is to boil them just like regular pasta, and then immediately submerge them in cold water – kindof like blanching vegetables.

[Partially-related Jack Handey quote: “If you’re a horse, and someone gets on you, and falls off, and then gets right back on you, I think you should buck him off right away.”]

Anyway, whatever starch you choose to serve with this shrimp, I bet you’re gonna like it. It’s a little spicier than I expected, so be careful with the chile paste.

STIR FRIED SHRIMP WITH SPICY ORANGE SAUCE (slightly adapted from Stephanie Cooks)

1 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 tbsp cornstarch
1/4 cup orange juice
2 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
2 tbsp honey
1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 tbsp chile paste (such as sambal oelek)
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
2 tsp minced garlic
1/3 cup chopped green onions

  1. Place shrimp in a medium bowl. Sprinkle with cornstarch and toss well to coat. Set aside.
  2. Combine juice, soy sauce, honey, vinegar, and chile paste, stirring with a whisk. Set aside.
  3. Heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add ginger and garlic; stir-fry for 15 seconds or until fragrant. Add shrimp mixture and stir-fry for 3 minutes. Add juice mixture and green onions; cook 2 minutes or until sauce thickens and shrimp are done, stirring frequently. Serve immediately over rice, rice noodles, or other pasta.

You can’t go wrong with shrimp! Rice noodles, on the other hand…

4 thoughts on “Stir Fried Shrimp with Spicy Orange Sauce

  1. I’ve always wanted to try cooking rice noodles- I had no idea that they are such a pain! May I suggest that you continue in your quest to cook the perfect rice noodles and post about the winning technique so that I can skip all of the pain? You don’t mind, right? 😉 The spicy orange sauce looks incredible and right up my alley. Definitely a must try. Maybe I’ll stick with rice for now, though!

  2. Pingback: Stir Fried Shrimp with Spicy Orange Sauce « emiliawalker

Leave a Reply

