Spaghetti with Mozzarella-Stuffed Meatballs

I had pretty low expectations for this meal. My husband requested spaghetti, which isn’t my fave, and I thought this recipe looked…interesting. But not necessarily delicious. And the idea of “mozzarella-stuffed meatballs” sounded time-consuming. Boy, was I wrong on all counts. I threw this together in about 10 minutes (plus 20 to cook), and we Ate. It. Up. I can’t wait to make meatball sandwiches out of the leftovers!

SPAGHETTI WITH MOZZARELLA-STUFFED MEATBALLS (recipe from Annie’s Eats)

1/4 cup breadcrumbs
1/2 cup milk
2 tsp olive oil
1 tbsp minced garlic, divided
1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
salt and pepper
1 pound ground sirloin
2 tbsp dried parsley
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
1 egg
4 ounces mozzarella cheese, cubed
Spaghetti, cooked according to package instructions

  1. Soak breadcrumbs in milk and set aside. Heat olive oil in skillet and cook half the garlic until tender. Add tomatoes, season with salt and pepper, and let simmer.
  2. Add beef, remaining garlic, parsley, parmesan cheese, egg, and 1 tsp salt to breadcrumb mixture. Stir with fork until well mixed. Use about 2 tbsp meat mixture to form meatballs around mozzarella cheese cubes.
  3. Place meatballs in tomato sauce so they are submerged. Raise heat to medium-low and cook 20 minutes. Serve with spaghetti.

We LOVED this! I played around with the seasonings and accidentally only used half the parmesan cheese called for, and it still tasted great. I couldn’t get my meatballs fully submerged in the sauce, so I just made sure to turn them a few times while they cooked, which worked fine. We’ll definitely be having this again!

One thought on “Spaghetti with Mozzarella-Stuffed Meatballs

  1. I am going weigh 300 pounds if I keep trying all of these fantastic recipes! Had to put this one on my list too.

Leave a Reply

