Friday Night Thai Chicken Pizza

I’m not sure why, but whenever Friday night rolls around, I always seem to crave pizza. This undoubtedly goes back to my childhood, when I would spend Friday nights eating an individual cheese pizza from Gambino’s and watching Full House and Step by Step – a.k.a., the highlight of my entire week. Now, if we don’t have plans on a Friday night, I always seem to end up making a pizza. Is it still the highlight of my week, even if it no longer involves the Olsen twins and dreamy Uncle Jesse? Pretty much.

One Friday night I decided I was in the mood for a Thai chicken pizza. I had made one once before using a Rachael Ray recipe, and I hadn’t been very impressed. I remember it involved soaking cucumbers in vinegar of some kind – not delicious. This time I just decided to wing it, and it turned out really well! You can do the crust however you want, but I like making mine homemade, and I am a huge fan of this recipe. In fact, until very recently, it was the only pizza crust recipe I had ever used.

I had wanted to use a store-bought peanut sauce in place of marinara, but I actually couldn’t find any at the grocery store by my house. I did a little googling and realized I could make one very easily with stuff that was already in the fridge, so that’s what I ended up doing. It worked out really well, because I was able to adjust the heat to my liking. The recipe is below, but this is mainly just a jumping-off point. That’s the great thing about pizza – no matter what you throw on there, it usually turns out tasting pretty good (vinegar-soaked cucumbers aside).

THAI CHICKEN PIZZA

Pizza:
Pizza crust
2 chicken breasts
Olive oil or olive oil spray
McCormick grill seasoning
2 cups shredded cheese (I used half mozzarella and half an Italian blend)
1/2 red pepper, chopped
3 green onions, chopped
1/2 cup shredded carrots
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
1/4 cup peanuts, slightly crushed

Peanut Sauce: (recipe from All Recipes)
3/4 cup crunchy peanut butter
1/2 cup water
2.5 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp hot sauce
2 cloves garlic

  1. Preheat oven to 425. Chop chicken breasts into bite-sized pieces, sprinkle with grill seasoning, and sauté in small amount of olive oil or olive oil spray. Set aside.
  2. Combine peanut sauce ingredients in small bowl and stir until smooth. Spoon peanut sauce over pizza crust (you don’t have to use all the sauce, just enough to nicely coat it).
  3. Top the pizza with half of the cheese, then add chicken, red pepper, green onions, and carrots. Add remaining cheese on top.
  4. Bake pizza for 18 minutes at 425. Top with cilantro and crushed peanuts.

All the ingredients for a great Friday night. Make sure to serve with plenty of wine!

Leave a Reply

