Steak Marinade

I mentioned awhile back that a couple weekends ago, my husband had to work more than 30 hours between 6 p.m. Friday and noon on Sunday. It was extremely uncool. When his project was finally over on Sunday afternoon, I decided to be extra nice by doing something I almost never do – picking up some scotch and grilling him a big, fat steak. Scotch and steak are not exactly two of my favorite things, but it was a nice treat for him, and this yummy marinade went a long way toward making me enjoy my steak.

As someone who is not a huge meat eater (and certainly not a huge steak eater), I always assumed that “marinating” meat involved buying a prepackaged marinade at the grocery store. However, after googling some homemade marinades, I can’t believe how easy it is to make something really tasty with ingredients you already have in your pantry! To make this marinade, the only thing I had to buy was hoisin sauce; everything else I already had. Give it a try if you’re looking for something a little sweet with a nice spicy finish.

STEAK MARINADE (recipe from Mary Ellen’s Cooking Creations)

1/3 cup olive oil
1 tbsp white wine vinegar
1 tbsp cooking sherry
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tbsp hoisin sauce (found in Asian section of supermarket)
1 1/2 tbsp sriracha
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp onion powder

Combine all ingredients and marinate steak 8 hours or overnight.

This was a wonderful finish to a terrible weekend. Keep this in mind now that grilling season is (almost) here!

Leave a Reply

