Creamy Chicken with Swiss Cheese and Stuffing

If you’re like me, you probably have a couple of recipes you used to like a lot but haven’t made in awhile because you finally realized how terrible they are for you. This is one of mine. I came across it not long after I first moved to Chicago and made it several times that first year, loving it every time. The other day I had a random craving for it and wondered why I hadn’t made it in so long. Then I dug up the recipe and realized why – it calls for an entire stick of butter, prepackaged stuffing mix, and a whole can of condensed soup. Oh. That’s why.

Not wanting to part with this recipe forever, I recently gave it a healthifying makeover. I didn’t work a miracle or anything – there’s still butter and prepared food in there – but it’s a big improvement over its original form without sacrificing anything in the way of taste. And man do I love the way this tastes. This is my idea of comfort food.

CREAMY CHICKEN WITH SWISS CHEESE AND STUFFING (heavily adapted from
All Recipes)

4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
4 slices Swiss cheese
4 slices prosciutto (optional, but I had some in the fridge to use up)
4 tbsp butter, divided
2 tbsp flour
1/3 cup low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
1/4 cup skim milk
1/4 cup cooking sherry
1 6-ounce package herb-seasoned dry stuffing mix
Pepper

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Lightly spray casserole dish with cooking spray.

2. In medium sauce pan, heat 2 tbsp butter over medium heat. Add in flour, stirring constantly, until it is fully absorbed into butter. Whisk in broth, stirring until smooth. Repeat with milk. When mixture is smooth, remove from heat and stir in sherry.

3. Lay chicken breasts in bottom of casserole dish and sprinkle them with pepper. Top each chicken breast with a slice of prosciutto (if desired) and Swiss cheese. Pour sauce over chicken breasts.

4. Melt remaining 2 tbsp butter in microwave-safe bowl. Combine stuffing and melted butter and pour over chicken. Cover dish with aluminum foil and bake at 325 for 25 minutes; uncover and bake 10-15 minutes longer, until chicken reaches 165 degrees.

Very creamy and comforting, and just as good as I remembered. The first time I tried this, I was tempted to use a different kind of cheese since I’m not much of a Swiss fan, but once I tasted it with the Swiss, I was never tempted again. Swiss is perfect here. Next time I might try using homemade stuffing – or at least dicing up some carrots and celery to throw in there! – to make it even “healthier.”

One thought on “Creamy Chicken with Swiss Cheese and Stuffing

  1. This sounds really good. You can never have enough chicken recipes in your toolbox. Can’t wait to try this on our next chicken night.

Leave a Reply

