Quinoa with Salmon, Feta and Dill

A few days ago, I had a somewhat surreal experience. Someone asked me where I was going to watch the championship game, and I said I’d probably watch it at home by myself because “my husband was in New York on business.” I gotta say, I think that was the most grown-up-sounding sentence I’ve ever uttered. It’s right up there with “I’m going to rebalance my portfolio over a bowl of all-bran cereal”…only I don’t think I’ve ever said that last one.

Anyway, when my husband is out of town, I tend to cook a little differently. Not that I make butter-drenched deliciousness when he’s home and super healthy rabbit food when he’s gone, but I do use it as an opportunity to try out healthier recipes that sound good to me but that might not exactly make his eyes light up. I made two things like this last week, and unfortunately, this is the only one worth sharing. The other recipe, while super healthy and full of sweet potatoes, kale, carrots, celery and lentils, was pretty bland and required a liberal dousing of sriracha to be edible. This, however, is very flavorful, fairly healthy, and pretty easy to make. Check it out:

QUINOA WITH SALMON, FETA AND DILL (recipe from The Way the Cookie Crumbles)

1 cup quinoa
2 cups water
1 lemon, juiced and zested
6-8 ounces smoked salmon, chopped small
2 tsp olive oil
1/2 cucumber, diced
1/2 cup feta cheese
1 tbsp fresh minced dill

  1. Place quinoa in fine mesh strainer and rinse until water no longer forms. Bring water to a boil in a large saucepan; add quinoa and lemon zest. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer 15 minutes. Turn heat off and let quinoa sit, covered, for 5 minutes after cooking. Drain any unabsorbed water.
  2. Squeeze lemon juice over quinoa, mix in remaining ingredients, and either serve immediately or refrigerate and serve chilled.

Like I said, great flavor. I almost never buy smoked salmon because it’s sort of pricey, but this was a great reminder of how tasty it can be. I added some dried dill to this as well, just to make it extra dill-y. Happy weekend!

One thought on “Quinoa with Salmon, Feta and Dill

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year: The 12 Best Dishes of 2012! | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

