Chicken and Dumplings (and an upset tummy)

Last night I had every intention of getting home from work at a reasonable hour and making some spicy enchiladas for dinner. I had been craving Mexican food all day, and I had the whole dinner planned out. My plans went awry (in a good way!) around 4 p.m., when my husband texted me to let me know he had won Bulls tickets for that night’s game. Enchiladas were off.

Now, here’s where I made my mistake. Even though our evening plans had changed, my Mexican food craving never left me. Naturally, I had the bright idea of getting sports-stadium quality nachos for dinner. Smart, right? Not only were they gross, they were also expensive, so I felt like I had to eat them. Needless to say, my stomach has been upset ever since.

Given the nacho snafu, I was in major need of some comfort food to soothe my stomach tonight. I hit the jackpot with this Rachael Ray recipe for chicken and dumplings. Even though the ingredient list is a little longer than I usually like for a weeknight dinner, it’s easy to make with stuff that’s already in your fridge, and I made things even easier by picking up carrot and celery sticks from the grocery store salad bar. I was worried this would be bland, so I used a heavy hand with the salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning, which was a good call. Here’s the recipe:

CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS (adapted from Rachael Ray)

2 chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 tbsp olive oil
1 1/2 tbsp butter
1 potato, peeled and cut into bite-sized pieces
2 cups carrots, diced
2 cups celery, diced
1/2 cup onion, diced
1 dried bay leaf
salt and pepper to taste
2 tsp poultry seasoning (I used Penzey’s Northwood Seasoning)
2 tbsp flour
4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 cup Bisquick
1/2 cup hot water
1/4 to 1/2 cup chopped parsley
1 cup frozen green peas

  1. Heat a large pot over medium high heat; add oil, butter, potato, carrots, celery, onion, and bay leaf. Cook 5 minutes, stirring often. Season with salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning. Add flour and cook 2 minutes. Stir in broth and bring to a boil. Add chicken; stir.
  2. In small bowl, combine Bisquick, hot water, and parsley. Drop spoonfuls of dough into the pot, spacing dumplings evenly. Cover pot tightly and reduce heat to medium low; simmer 8-10 minutes without removing lid. Remove cover and stir to thicken sauce. Remove bay leaf. Stir peas into mixture, remove from heat, and serve.

We topped this with a little parmesan cheese and crushed red pepper flakes. Next time it might be fun to try some different things in the dumplings – dill, cilantro, etc. My stomach feels better already!

3 thoughts on “Chicken and Dumplings (and an upset tummy)

  1. Mmmm. Sounds so good. Love having good comfort food recipes on hand. Will definitely try this! But one question. Did you cook the chicken first? If so, how did you cook it?

  2. Pingback: Chili Chicken Soup with Cilantro Dumplings « windykitchen

Leave a Reply

