Peanut and Pork Stir Fry

So let’s talk for a second about how dumb I am. This recipe for peanut and pork stir fry is one I’ve made several times as an easy week night dinner. What I like about it is that, besides being really simple to make with stuff I always have on hand, you can throw in any vegetable you like. As an added bonus, it’s tasty and fairly healthy to boot.

So. Back to how dumb I am.

I wavered back and forth on what veggies I wanted to throw into this stir fry, and finally picked up some frozen snow peas when I was at the grocery store last week. And as I type this, the stir fry is all gone, but those darn snow peas are still in the freezer. Whoops.

Maybe you’ll have better luck than me.

PEANUT AND PORK STIR FRY (adapted from My Recipes)

1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth
2 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
2 tbsp rice vinegar
4 tsp cornstarch
2 tsp vegetable oil
1 tbsp grated fresh ginger
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
5 green onions, chopped, white and green parts separated
2 boneless pork chops, cut into thin strips
1/4 cup crushed peanuts, plus extra for garnish
Vegetable of choice
Cooked white or brown rice

  1. In small bowl, mix chicken broth, soy sauce, vinegar, and cornstarch. Set aside.
  2. Warm oil in wok or large skillet over medium high heat. Add ginger, red pepper, and white part of green onions; cook, stirring constantly, about a minute.
  3. Add pork and toss to cook, about five minutes.
  4. Stir in sauce and 1/4 cup peanuts. Cook, stirring frequently, until sauce thickens, about two minutes. Stir in vegetable and serve over rice, topped with peanuts and green onions.

Good, quick, easy. Don’t forget the veggies in the freezer!

Leave a Reply

