Jalapeno Popper Chicken

Image

My husband is an exceptionally good sport when it comes to eating whatever I set on the table at night (and by table I mostly mean couch). I make an effort to avoid foods on his Yuck List (olives, mustard, pickles), but beyond that I mainly just make what I want. In fact, I think people have started to feel bad for him. I told my dad a few weeks ago that I was trying to cook healthier things and had recently made us some yummy Brussels sprouts (recipe coming soon!). My dad responded, “I’d rather be fat.”

Since he’s such a good sport eating stuff like Brussels sprouts, sometimes I’ll be nice and make him things like this: jalapeno popper chicken. There’s nothing fancy or complicated about this recipe, and the name pretty much sums it up…chicken stuffed with cream cheese and jalapenos, then breaded and baked. I can confirm that both of us heartily enjoyed this, as if you couldn’t guess that from the description.

Another thing about this recipe that was great for me (though maybe not for you) was that the bake time (30 minutes) exactly corresponds to the amount of time it takes my husband to get home from work. I got everything ready as soon as I got home, chilled out for a bit, and then when I got his nightly “leaving work now” text, I popped it in the oven and looked like the greatest wife of all time when the oven timer dinged the second he walked in the door. I think that’s worth a couple of measly Brussels sprouts, right?

Here’s the recipe:

JALAPENO POPPER CHICKEN (adapted from Prevention RD)

4 chicken breasts
1/2 cup reduced fat cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 cup chopped jarred jalapeno slices, plus a splash of juice from the jar
1/2 cup plain bread crumbs
1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
1 tbsp taco seasoning (I didn’t have any, so I improvised)
1/2 cup flour
1 egg

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and spray glass baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. Mix together cream cheese, cheddar cheese, jalapenos, and jalapeno juice. Use knife to cut chicken breasts in half horizontally, making sure not to cut all the way through (you should be able to open the chicken breast up like a book). Spread cream cheese mixture in between chicken breasts.
  3. Put flour in one dish, whisked egg in second dish, and both types of bread crumbs and taco seasoning in third dish. Dip chicken breasts in flour, then egg, then bread crumbs.
  4. Bake 30 minutes at 350.

Yummmm. You can up the jalapenos if you want this to be spicier, but I thought it had a decent kick as is. The taco seasoning is a nice touch, too. We both loved this and will definitely have it again.

One thought on “Jalapeno Popper Chicken

Leave a Reply

