Soy Citrus Scallops with Udon Noodles and Snow Peas

Soy Citrus Scallops with Udon Noodles | windykitchen

Is anyone else surprised by how much they’re enjoying Weird Al Week?

I had pretty much forgotten Weird Al existed (except for the rare – and excellent – moments when The Saga Begins would randomly pop up on my iTunes), but BANG! This week he just knocked it out of the park releasing a different video every single day.

So, what’s your favorite so far? I have to go with Word Crimes, which appears to be the consensus favorite (at least according to the portions of the Internet I frequent). But really — they’re all great. Tacky, Foil, Handy…and apparently we have four more to look forward to! I’m excited to see what other songs he picks…with the exception of “Happy” (which I never really got into), he’s picking all my jams!

Weird Al Week got me reminiscing about all his hits I’ve enjoyed over the years. As I’ve told my husband many, many times (to his moderate annoyance, I’m sure), I’ve always loved how The Saga Begins was told from the viewpoint of Obi-Wan Kenobi…for some reason, that little detail always pleased me. But if you want to go way, way back, I remember listening to his Bad Hair Day album on repeat back in middle school. Amish Paradise was the big hit off that album, but I preferred The Night Santa Went Crazy and Since You’ve Been Gone…anybody with me? Bueller?

Al’s done a lot of food parodies (Eat It, My Bologna, Addicted to Spuds, Fat, Taco Grande, The Rye or the Kaiser…man he does a lot of food parodies!), but I’m not sure he’s ever done a parody involving scallops. Which is a little strange — they seem like just the sort of funny-sounding food that would be ripe for parody. Maybe by the end of the week, huh?

SOY CITRUS SCALLOPS WITH UDON NOODLES AND SNOW PEAS (recipe from Prevention RD)

6 oz dry Udon noodles (or other preferred pasta)
3 cups snow peas (frozen is fine)
3 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
1 tbsp fresh orange juice
1 tbsp seasoned rice vinegar
1 tbsp honey
1 tbsp fresh ginger, peeled and minced
1-2 tsp chili garlic sauce, such as sambal oelek
1 tbsp sesame oil, divided
3/4 lb sea scallops, patted dry
3 green onions, thinly sliced

1. Bring large pot of water to boiling. Add pasta and cook 6-7 minutes, adding snow peas for final 2-3 minutes of cooking.
2. Meanwhile, combine soy sauce, orange juice, vinegar, honey, ginger, garlic sauce, and 1 tsp sesame oil in shallow baking dish. Add scallops in single layer. Marinate 4 minutes, flip over, then marinate additional 4 minutes on other side.
3. Heat remaining 2 tsp oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add scallops to pan, reserving marinade. Saute scallops 1-2 minutes persude, then remove from pan, keeping warm by covering with foil.
4. Add remaining marinade to pan and bring to a boil. Return scallops to pan and cook 1 minute. Add noodles and snow peas, tossing to coat. Remove from heat, serve warm.

Super quick, super tasty dinner. This was my most successful scallop-making endeavor to date – they cooked perfectly!

2 thoughts on “Soy Citrus Scallops with Udon Noodles and Snow Peas

Leave a Reply

