Coconut Quinoa with Kale and Tropical Pesto

Coconut Quinoa with Kale and Tropical Pesto | windykitchen

Do you guys ever make any effort to eat vegan?

I mean, I’m guessing that if you’re a full-on vegan, you’re probably not a regular reader of this blog. I have a handful of vegan and quasi-vegan-if-you-maybe-make-some-adaptions recipes, but that’s obviously not a big focus of my blog. I do have one friend who has recently adopted a vegan diet and still reads my blog (side note: thanks!), but I have to imagine that she’s the exception.

Anyway, I don’t go out of my way to find vegan meals very often, but I do look for meat-free and cheese-free dishes fairly often, so sometimes I end up making vegan things, anyway. This quinoa (which is vegan) was very healthy and tasty, but my husband thought it seemed more like a side dish than a main dish.

So, you know. If you want to serve this alongside a big steak, go right ahead.

Coconut Quinoa with Kale and Tropical Pesto | windykitchen

COCONUT QUINOA WITH KALE AND TROPICAL PESTO (adapted from Cookie and Kate)

Ingredients for the quinoa:
1 cup dry quinoa, rinsed and drained
1 cup light coconut milk
1 cup water
1 small bunch of kale, stems removed and leaves chopped (about 4 cups total)
1/3 cup shredded coconut

Ingredients for the tropical pesto:
2 cups cilantro, stems removed
1/2 cup cashews
4 cloves garlic
1/4 cup shredded coconut
1/4 cup olive oil
juice of one lime
salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper flakes to taste

1. To make quinoa: Combine 1 cup coconut milk and 1 cup water in medium saucepan, bringing to a boil. Add quinoa, cover, and simmer 15-17 minutes, until the liquid is absorbed. Remove from heat, fluff with fork, and set aside.
2. To Make pesto: combine cilantro, cashews, garlic, and coconut in food processor. Start processing mixture, then slowly drizzle in olive oil. Season with lime juice, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes, then blend well.
3. In medium serving bowl, combine warm coconut quinoa, chopped kale, and pesto. Mix well and season to taste with salt and pepper, if necessary. Top with remaining shredded coconut (toasted if you like!) and serve warm.

Great vegan dinner option in my book!

Coconut Quinoa with Kale and Tropical Pesto | windykitchen

4 thoughts on “Coconut Quinoa with Kale and Tropical Pesto

  1. Thanks, Jaci! This looks great (as per usual)! I’m going to skip the steak and serve it with some soy-ginger marinated tofu!

  2. Having now made the quinoa recipe, I can confirm it’s really good! The cooking time on the quinoa was a little longer for me than usual – maybe because of the coconut milk instead of just water? Not sure. It meant I had plenty of time to get the pesto ready though. I’ll definitely make this again.

Leave a Reply

