Chicken Gorgonzola Bruschetta

Chicken Gorgonzola Bruschetta | windykitchen

When I was a nervous and fairly timid college freshman, I got a job working for the college yearbook. I know that sounds like not a real job at all, but it was actually moderately intense in retrospect (and insanely intense at the time). It was a paid job, in that I got paid $92 every two weeks, and it was a time-consuming job, in that I worked about 20 hours on a good week and something like 70 hours on a bad one.

All for $46 per week.

Sometime midway through the year, I was incredibly stressed out by the drama and agony of college yearbook, and I called my dad to vent. He — being quite rational and reasonable — was none too impressed that I was working my butt off at something that (1) wasn’t for a grade, and (2) paid me $92 every two weeks. Being the millennial generation child that I am, I assured him that I was getting lots of “positive feedback” from my superiors and that everyone “really appreciated my work.”

Entirely unimpressed with my “positive feedback,” he dropped some serious, unassailable wisdom on me:

“If they really appreciate you, they’ll show you the money.”

Chicken Gorgonzola Bruschetta | windykitchen

Tom Cruise couldn’t have said it better himself. And, millennial or not, I’ve always thought my dad was on to something there. So imagine my delight when my husband came home from work the other day while I was still making this bruschetta (good sign #1), before the sun went down (good sign #2), and with a big smile on his face (good sign #3). He explained that someone at his office had apparently noticed all his longgg hours and harddd work, and they got him a nice little AmEx gift card as a thank-you.

Now they’re speaking my language!

Chicken Gorgonzola Bruschetta | windykitchen

CHICKEN GORGONZOLA BRUSCHETTA (adapted from Picky Palate)

4 Roma tomatoes, diced
2 cloves minced garlic
10-12 large fresh basil leaves, cut in a chiffonade
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
kosher salt and pepper to taste
1 loaf ciabatta or French bread, sliced length-wise
3 tbsp butter, melted
1/2 tsp garlic salt
1 cup crumbled Gorgonzola cheese (or more to taste)
1 large chicken breast, poached and shredded

1. Preheat oven’s broiler to high, placing oven rack 5-6 inches from top.
2. To prepare bruschetta topping, place diced tomatoes, garlic, sliced basil leaves, olive oil, vinegar, salt, and pepper in large mixing bowl, stirring to combine. Taste and season with additional salt and pepper if needed. Let sit while preparing remaining ingredients (the longer it sits, the better it’ll be).
3. Place split bread loaf halves cut-side up on a large baking sheet. Spread with butter and season with garlic salt. Top evenly with gorgonzola cheese and shredded chicken. Top with bruschetta topping and place under broiler for 5-10 minutes or until bread is toasted and golden brown (check after 5 minutes). Remove, cut into 2 inch slices, and serve.

I liked this a lot, but my husband devoured it (I guess making it rain AmEx gift cards works up quite an appetite!). If you’re a blue cheese fan, this definitely needs to go onto your to-make list ASAP.

Chicken Gorgonzola Bruschetta | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

