Chicken Caesar Sandwiches

Chicken Caesar Sandwiches | windykitchen

In my mind, the biggest benefit of suburban living over city dwelling is not having to carry your groceries home from the grocery store. Hands down, no contest. But the second biggest benefit of the suburbs is the proliferation of chain restaurants and chain stores. I know a lot of people actually hate this about the suburbs, but I’m not one of them. I love it.

The weird part is, even though there have always been plenty of chains in the cities I’ve lived in, I never seem to go to them. I guess because there are so many other options? One chain restaurant I heavily associate with the suburbs is Panera, even though there’s one less than a mile from my city apartment. And I love Panera! So much good stuff there. When my husband and I are on a long car trip, I keep an eagle eye out for a Panera sign, in the hopes that we won’t have to resort to greasy burgers or gas station food for sustenance.

If you’re a Panera fan, you’ll probably be a fan of these sandwiches. In fact, as soon as he finished chewing his first bite, my husband said, “You should sell this recipe to Panera!” I mean, I think Panera can probably take care of its own menu without my help, but I get what he meant. These have a very light, fresh, Panera-y vibe to them, and I know I’ll be making them again.

Chicken Caesar Sandwiches | windykitchen

CHICKEN CAESAR SANDWICHES (windykitchen original, dressing adapted from Food Network)

Dressing ingredients:
6 cloves garlic, pressed
1 tbsp Dijon mustard
1 tbsp white vinegar
3 tbsp nonfat Greek yogurt (can sub mayo or sour cream)
1/3 cup olive oil
2 tsp lemon juice
2 tsp anchovy paste*
pepper to taste

Chicken ingredients:
2 chicken breasts, poached and shredded
1/2 cup Asiago cheese, grated
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
Four sandwich buns
Additional toppings (romaine lettuce, red onions, etc.)

1. To make dressing, combine garlic, Dijon, vinegar, and anchovy paste in food processor; process to combine. Add Greek yogurt, then olive oil, then lemon juice, processing between each addition until smooth and creamy. Taste and add pepper, adjusting other ingredients for desired taste and consistency.
2. In large bowl, combine shredded chicken, cheese, and parsley. Add dressing to chicken mixture; stir well to combine. Refrigerate until chilled.
3. Serve chicken on toasted sandwich buns (I made my own) with romaine, red onions, or other fixings.

Yield: 4 sandwiches

*if you can’t deal with anchovy paste and want to omit it, make sure to add some salt

Chicken Caesar Sandwiches | windykitchen

This dressing worked so well as a chicken-salad-type base. When I first made the dressing, I was absolutely in love with how much bite it had, but I do think some people might have found it overpowering. Mixed in with the chicken, though, it was perfection. If you want to make this more veggie-heavy, try tossing in some chopped celery.

Chicken Caesar Sandwiches | windykitchen

12 thoughts on “Chicken Caesar Sandwiches

  1. This looks AMAZING – I love Ceasar Salad! My mom & I were just discussing that we need something we can prepare in advance and which will be quick/easy/healthy to much on for a light lunch that will include protein so I don’t get a headache before my wedding while the girls finish getting ready – and I think we have the winner here :-)

    • That’s a great idea! In fact, I think I had catering from Panera in the dressing room before my wedding…but it’s always better when it’s homemade!!

      Thanks for reading!

  2. Pingback: Hungry: Eleven Great Weekend Recipes | justb.

  3. You should add a second note regarding anchovy paste. People with fish allergies should not eat anchovies. If you are serving at a party, please let guests know your salad has fish in it. Can’t wait to try, without the anchovy paste.

    • Click on “FoodNetwork” next to the Name of the Chicken, it will get you to the recipe you can print or Save

  4. Pingback: Oh What a Year It’s Been! (Top 13 Recipes of 2013) | windykitchen

  5. Do you have any tips on poaching the chicken? How to tell when it’s done? Done enough to be safe and not so “done” that it is dried out.

    • Probably not the answer you wanted, but I always use a kitchen thermometer. For largeish chicken breasts, I’ll check at around 12 minutes to see if they’ve reached 160 degrees yet, but they usually take more like 15-18 minutes. Smaller pieces cook faster, of course.

      Chicken is one of those things I just won’t make without a thermometer. I’ve had too many bad experiences to trust cooking times, they can vary by so many different factors…

Leave a Reply

