White Chocolate S’mores Bars

When you know someone really well, you usually end up knowing their dessert preferences. I mean, all desserts are delicious, but most people end up preferring certain types over others. Some people are chocolate lovers. Some love mint. My husband is guaranteed to like anything with peanut butter, and everyone in our family knows that my grandpa will go crazy for a little lemon.

It sounds sort of weird, but I have come to realize that my dessert preference is butter. Yep, butter. Chocolate, mint, peanut butter – they’re all great in moderation, but if you want to get me really excited, give me a blondie. Or yellow cake or rice krispie treats. Or, like a good friend once made me, chocolate chip cookies with no chocolate chips. If butter is in the starring role with sugar in the background, I’m probably going to love it.

So as you can see, this dessert is basically made for me – an entire stick of butter in one 8×8 pan! Awesome. It’s one part gooey butter cake and one part s’more, with a white chocolate twist for those who aren’t chocoholics. Yes please!

WHITE CHOCOLATE S’MORES BARS (recipe from Picky Palate)

1 box yellow cake mix
1 large egg
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
4 1/2 full graham crackers
5 ounces white chocolate chips
2 cups mini marshmallows
1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line an 8×8 pan with tin foil, spraying generously with cooking spray.
2. Place cake mix, egg, and butter in large bowl and mix with your hands until dough forms. Press half the dough into the bottom of the pan. Layer with graham crackers, then white chocolate chips, then marshmallows. Top with remaining dough, pressing evenly to cover. Drizzle condensed milk over top layer of dough.
3. Bake 28-33 minutes until golden brown. Let the bars cool completely before removing from pan and cutting into squares.

Make these to take to an event, because believe me, you don’t want them sitting around your house!

One thought on “White Chocolate S’mores Bars

  1. Um, this sounds amazing and I’m going to make it this weekend. And, I sometimes still make chocolate chips cookies sans chocolate chips because they are delicious!

Leave a comment